Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

The last week of the regular season on the 2014 PGA Europro was upon us and Mar Hall on the banks of the River Clyde in Glasgow had the honour of staging the event.

Due to playing a Pro Am on Monday, it meant I traveled up to Glasgow on Monday night. I did get on the course on Tuesday morning for a full practice round and the course was in very good condition with the greens being the best they have been in the three visits I have made to Mar Hall.

There is a good mix of demanding holes and very scoreable holes, without doubt this was going to be a low scoring week.

I started my first round as last off in the morning wave and I was one over through three but two birdies in the next three holes and now under par, with plenty more chances to come. From here in, my game was very steady only picking up one more birdie before coming to my last hole which yielded another birdie and an opening 67. A steady if not spectacular start.

On our back nine we did have the company of Gordon Strachan (Scotland manager) as the national team were here preparing for their Euro qualifier against Germany.

So after round one I was sitting just outside the top 10 and looking to make a move up the leaderboard.

Round 2 started slowly with five pars before throwing in a couple of bogies on 6 and 9 after three putting, not the move I was hoping for. No need to get impatient as my game was in good shape and lots of birdie chances to come. The only birdie that I did convert was on the driveable 14th and unfortunately this was cancelled out on the par 3 17th when I found the front bunker and couldn’t get up and down for par.

This meant a second round of 72 and I had fallen short of the cut line which fell at 2 under par.

It is obviously disappointing to miss the cut, but I now have a week at home before the journey starts that is the European Tour Qualifying school which is three stages and 14 rounds of golf to earn a European Tour card for 2015.

