Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

With last week’s event finishing on a Thursday it meant I had an extra day at home to work on my game and I was feeling good about things heading down to The Oxfordshire for the second to last regular season event.

The forecast was not good for Monday and when I got to the course it was raining pretty hard, with this in mind I ventured out on to the course and only played 5 holes before walking the rest of the course. As I have been to The Oxfordshire a number of times, I was happy just walking the course, with the rain coming down so hard, it was a no brainer as there was no benefit to playing. The course was playing pretty long with all the rain.

Tuesday was spent working on a number of drills and again dodging the heavy rain showers that seemed to be coming thick and fast through the day.

All preparation done it was time for round 1 and with strong winds greeting the players as we arrived on the first morning it would appear it was going to be a tough day for scoring.

I got off to a solid start with a birdie at the second, but over the next four holes I missed putts from 5-7 feet and now I was +1 having made a couple of bogies. Momentum is so powerful in golf and it can work for and against you and the key is obviously to getting it going as much as you can in your favour and for as long as possible. It then took me till the 11th for my next birdie, but a bogey on the very next after three putting again stopped any momentum in its tracks and I would wind up parring into the clubhouse for a round of 73.

It wasn’t a terrible opening round as the best in from the morning wave was 69 but as the day wore on the weather improved and so do the scoring which pushed me further down the leaderboard.

Round 2 was a chance to get something going and I was using the good memories of last year when I came within two of a playoff and also the good play from last week.

Unfortunately a slow start of 6 pars was then followed by two silly bogies, the first on a very scoreable par five and then on the 8th after spinning my second shot back 20ft with an 8 iron back into the water short of the green. Another bogey on my tenth and I was +3 for the day and +4 overall needing some birdies to make the cut, I suddenly found some of that elusive momentum and rolled off three birdies over the next three holes and I was making a moving, but as soon as the momentum came it went.

A missed chance for a fourth birdie in a row from 8ft was followed up with two bogies over the next two after missing both greens and then failing to convert from around 6-7ft for pars.

At this point I had a rough idea that nothing short of birdies on the last two would be good enough to make the final day and despite hitting good putts on both holes neither of them dropped and I was heading home, having missed the cut by two.

There now remains one final regular season event, which is next week at Mar Hall in Glasgow, a course that is going to throw up a lot of birdies and the time is right to finish the season on a high note.

 

 

