Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

After a couple of days at home working on my game, it was time to head south for the next PGA Europro event being held at Prince’s, a former Open Championship venue.

It was the furthest event from home taking seven and half hours to get down to Sandwich, with previous commitments it meant I didn’t arrive until 10pm, that left me with Monday to practice and prepare for a Tuesday start. With that in mind I walked 9 holes in the morning before playing 9 holes in the evening. The course hadn’t changed much from last year’s Tour Champs, the only thing was it was just a touch warmer, only a touch though!

The local wildlife, patrolling the greens!

The local wildlife, patrolling the greens!

The course was in great condition, with some pretty thick rough just off the fairways, getting it in play was going to be key to a good week.

Round one did not start well and I was three over through four holes after finding the rough off the tee on a couple of occasions, for whatever reason I just didn’t recover and when I dropped a couple more shots over the closing holes, I had opened up with a first round of 77.

I was little more than frustrated after the round, it is always tough to open a tournament this way, leaving so much work to do just to make the cut never mind get close to the lead.

So after a couple of hours relaxing with some of the other players, I felt better about things and got some practice in before heading to the beach and some fish and chips.

The beach, next stop Fish and Chips!

The beach, next stop Fish and Chips!

Waking up the next morning I felt very confident for some reason and this showed in the opening few holes as birdies came at 2 and 3, another birdie and a lone bogey meant I made the turn in -2 and further birdies came at 12,13 and 15 and for the first time I was level par for the tournament. A second round of 67 meant I comfortably made the cut and was now inside the top 25 going into the last round. What a difference a day makes.

The final round was close to producing another low score but the putts never dropped and four birdies against two bogies meant a closing 70. A little bit of an upwards move on the leaderboard and my finishing position was 16th. A result I would of taken after the opening round and this gives me a lot of confidence moving forward, especially into next week at The Oxfordshire where I just missed out on a play off by a couple of shots last year.

 

 

 

 

