Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Another week, another tournament, they are coming thick and fast now. Which really helps as you get in the mode of playing tournament golf. It is also important to conserve energy and for me I now try and take one day off a week from playing and practicing in an attempt to keep fresh, this is something I have struggled with in the past.

So this week was slightly unique in the fact that the Pro Am was being played on Monday and with a 7.50am tee time it meant I left home at 3am, as I already booked accommodation from the Monday night and with playing on a budget this was best option for me. I got to the course at around 6 and couldn’t wait to get out to play.

I was lucky to get myself a team of lovely guys who loved their golf. Throughout the round they were all really supportive and continued to give me targets to attain which on the most part I did. I finished up with a 69 which was good enough to pick up some money and I was happy with how I had played, especially considering I had never seen the course before, so this put me in a positive frame of mind for the week ahead.

Pro Am

Myself and my pro am team, before we got underway.

Round 1 started slowly being 1 over through 8 holes, but I was playing some good golf and my patience paid off with 4 birdies in a row from the 9th, the last three all being 2 putt birdies, so now I was 3 under and moving towards the top of the leaderboard again. I would go on to a drop a shot further into the round and I opened with a 69 which left in a decent position heading into round 2.

I got off to a good start in the second round getting to 4 under for the tournament through 3 holes, after this I had some great chance to keep going further under par, a touch of frustration set in on my 8th hole when I took 4 from the side of the green for a bogey and then another bogey on my 9th put me back to where I started the round. I would go on to drop another shot on my 12th and now I was falling to the wrong side of the cut line. I pushed hard to make birdies over the closing holes, but I couldn’t get them to drop until we got to the 18th hole and I was left with 30 feet to make the cut and in it went and I was round in 71 for a two round total of 140, 2 under par.

Approach into par 4 14th.

Approach into par 4 14th.

The last round certainly didn’t start the way I wanted with bogies at the opening 3 holes and when I bogeyed the 8th I was 4 over for the round, which on a low scoring day was not a good move. I then played the next 4 holes in 3 under and I was salvaging the round, further chances would keep coming, but I could only finish the round with 6 pars.

With a final round of 72, it meant I finished the tournament 1 under but to far behind the leaders. Next up is Open qualifying at The Mere on Monday followed by the next PGA Europro event at Frilford Heath in Oxford, starting on Wednesday.

 

 

 

 

