Tags

, , , , , ,

After a week off it was back on the road again to Astbury Hall in Shropshire for the latest Europro event. With there being no Pro Am this week and the course being less than two hours from home, I decided to travel over the day before the tournament on the Tuesday.

Once I arrived, I got out on the course and had a good look at things and it was holding up exceptionally well considering the rains that had passed through over the previous days. I was really happy with how I was hitting the ball and looking forward to another good week.

Round 1 didn’t start in the way I was looking for, dropping 3 shots in my first 5 holes. But I was playing well, so I stayed patient and with that came a number of birdie chances that were just sliding past. I would eventually make a birdie on my 15th hole, I followed this with another on 16 and I was now back to +1 and that is how I finished the opening round with a 71.

Round 2 also started slowly with bogies at 2 and 3 but birdies at 4 and 6 got me back on an even keel for the round. Despite playing some good golf I couldn’t carry on making birdies and dropped a couple more shots on 11 and 12. I finished the round 2 over for a 72 which left me on the wrong side of the cut line.

After the last couple of weeks it was a little frustrating to not continue challenging at the top of the leaderboards, but my game is in good shape and I am now coming into a busy period, so I look forward to some more good results in the coming weeks.

I am always looking for ways to keep improving and moving forward, for instance a couple of weeks ago I took the opportunity to watch Bradley Dredge play the final 9 holes at Longhirst Hall to see what a former European Tour winner may do differently. This week I took the opportunity to quiz John E Morgan about the short game, as he was known to have an incredible short game whilst competing on the PGA Tour. It is interesting to talk through the game, with players that have competed at the highest level.

So next up is Cumberwell Park near Bath for the next Europro event, a course I have not played before, but again I have only heard good reports.

 

 

 

 

 

