Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This last week was the second event of the PGA Europro season and it was being played over the fine links of Montrose just south of Aberdeen.

As it was a 350 mile drive to the course and a Tuesday start I decided to travel up on Saturday, for the week I was staying with a few good friends in a rented house, this is always a great thing to do, as you have your own space instead of being stuck in a hotel room.

So with this plan in place I travelled over to my room mate Paul Grannell’s house Friday night so we could get some practice done Saturday morning before making the long trip north. On route to Montrose we decided to stop off at the home of golf, St Andrews. What a place this is.

The famous bridge at the 18th on the Old Course, St Andrews

The famous bridge at the 18th on the Old Course, St Andrews

After our scheduled stop we arrived late evening, which meant we would be able to get out early on the course and get some good practice in before hopefully watching Liverpool take another 3 points against Chelsea. Well the practice went great and the course was in a similar shape, the football didn’t match it unfortunately and it was heartbreaking to see them lose a vital game at the business end of the season.

Montrose in the sunshine of the practice day.

Montrose in the sunshine of the practice day.

The house was a subdued place Sunday night as the four of us are all avid Liverpool fans, but we were all focused on the tournament and with another day of practice there was time to do some good work and I felt my preparation for this event was probably some of the best I have ever had and I was in confident mood going into the first round.

I was due to tee off at 12.39 on day 1 but due to a number of delays because of the haar rolling in off the sea I didn’t get the chance to get out on the course on the first day and I would have to wait until 2.15 on the Wednesday before I would get chance to start.

The weather awaiting me for the first round.

The weather awaiting me for the first round.

So the delay was spent in the back garden of our rented house practicing our pitching, when I did get to the course on the Wednesday the weather was not particularly pleasant with a stiff breeze and driving rain. I played some really good golf in some tough conditions, I also dropped a couple of shots that I shouldn’t of done which was inevitable in the conditions. By the time I got to the 18th my hands were starting to turn blue with the cold, but that didn’t stop me from finishing with a birdie. I finished up with a 75 and never would I be happy with this, apart from the conditions I had just played in.

Unfortunately due to the delays the event had been cut to 36 holes with now an 18 hole cut which left me one shot short of making it, which was highly frustrating after playing in the worst of the weather. No one shot better than 72 that started on the Wednesday. Sometimes you find yourself on the wrong side of things and over time it does even its self out, no matter what people say.

So after the disappointment there was the 350 mile drive back home and two weeks to prepare for the next event at Longhirst just outside of Newcastle.

