Tags

, , , , , , , ,

At the end of the regular season on the PGA Europro Tour which this year consisted of 14 tournaments, the top 60 on the order of merit qualified for the season ending Tour Championships to be played in mid October at Prince’s in Kent which I was one of.

Anyone that made it to the Tour Championships had a shot at finishing in the top 5 of the Final Order of Merit and with it a place on the 2014 European Challenge Tour. This was down to the fact that first place was 50% more than the regular season with the winner taking home £15,000.

So I was looking forward to having a good week, I made my way down to the course on the Sunday before the event, with the idea of getting the 6 hour drive out of the way and playing a few holes as there was limited practice available on the Monday morning.

I got to the course at a decent time and managed to get 18 holes in before dark, the course was in fantastic shape for the middle of October, now we just had to hope the weather would play ball too. Which for the most part it did.

I played some decent golf throughout the week, but never really sparked into life. I got to -3 under through 13 holes of the first round but fell back over the closing holes including a double bogey on my last hole to finish the round with a 71.

Day two proved to be the toughest in terms of weather with the wind blowing pretty hard and with three consecutive par fours on the front nine needing a driver and three wood to just get close to the green, you would think the course was showing its teeth. I managed to shoot 70 and felt quite happy considering the conditions only to find out that I had only maintained my position on the leaderboard. This shows how good the standard is out on the Tour.

The final round and it seemed like it was going to be a great day for scoring and I couldn’t get things going. I was playing steady golf but never got things going and I was stuck at 1 under for most of the round until I bogeyed the last for a 71.

So a three round total of 1 under left me in a tie for 33rd and a final position on the Order of Merit of 55th. The season has gone by so fast and now I have European Tour School Stage 2 at the beginning of November to look forward to.

Playing on the PGA Europro throughout the season has been without doubt the best possible preparation for Tour School, the courses we have played throughout the year and the way the events have been run has given us the players the best place to improve.

 

