Tags

, , , , ,

After a week off after Montrose it was nice to set off on the road again for the last regular season PGA Europro event at Moor Allerton on the outskirts of Leeds. Being only 2 hours from home was nice for a change.

I made my way to the course on Monday for a practice round and the course was in great shape, with the greens being incredibly quick on the severe slopes that were prominent on the front nine. Positioning of your approach shots on the front nine was going to be key to a good week. Being out of position would certainly put pressure on your touch and your nerves.

I really liked the course and was looking forward to the week ahead and with all my notes taken on Monday, I wanted to play the front 9 again on Tuesday to check various pin positions and where on the greens you could hit it, to give the best chance of realistic birdie putts.

I started round 1 from the 10th tee and opened up with a par before exchanging bogey and birdie on 11 and 12, before play was suspended for 20 mins due to fog. Thankfully it was only a short delay and I was still loose when play was restarted. I finished up the front nine by dropping shots at 15 and 18, to be out in 2 over. Over the front nine (my back nine) I played solid giving myself a few outside birdie chances, but my only birdie came on the par three 8th after holing a bunker shot from the bunker right of the green. A first round of 72 left me sitting around the cut line.

Day two and I started from the first tee at 12.41 and I made an early bogey on the 2nd, but after two good shots into the par five 5th which was followed by 2 putts I had my first birdie of the day and I added another at the 6th with an approach to 6 feet, finishing up the front nine with another birdie from 15 feet on 9 meant I was now under par for the tournament. Unfortunately I would go on to drop 4 shots over the next 6 holes and an early exit from the tournament. Missing the cut by two shots.

I felt as if my game was close to where I wanted to be, but I didn’t play the supposedly easier back nine well. I was 3 under for the front nine and 6 over for the back nine. I was the only player to shoot under par for the front nine and miss the cut.

I now have European Tour Stage 1 Qualifying next week at Frilford Heath followed by the season ending PGA Europro Tour Championships at Prince’s a couple of weeks later.

 

