Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Last week was the second of two back to back events in Scotland at Mar Hall just outside of Glasgow. With two events so close to each other it made sense to stay in the area over the weekend, instead of going home for the weekend. This gave me the chance of playing a practice round at the course on Sunday and making notes on lines and learn as much as possible before playing in the Pro Am on Tuesday.

I had a day off on Monday which is a bit of novelty as it is normally at least a travelling day, so after feeling rested it was onto the Pro Am and again I was lucky enough to be drawn with three nice guys who were also good golfers and they all played well and we managed to win the team event which was great for them. Personally I played solidly and finished up shooting 69 which left me three behind the winning score.

Onto the first round and I was off at 2pm and I started by giving myself a birdie chance from about 15ft on my opening hole the 10th, which I misread and had to settle for par. Another birdie chance went begging on the 11th from 8ft, after a great approach into 12, I was under par after I rolled in the birdie putt from 4ft.

I kept giving myself really good looks at birdies over the next few holes including a six footer on 13 which just slipped by. A three putt for par on 15 left me at 1 under for the round and I continued in this manner for the rest of the round, the only deviations from par came at the 6th when I three putted for bogey and the 7th when I rolled in a 12 footer for birdie.

So I finished up shooting 69, which was a little frustrating as I had given myself a number of very good birdie chances throughout the round and hit 17 greens. Scoring was very low and I finished up day one in a tie for 45th place.

Day two started from the 1st at 9am and I started by making pars on the opening 5 holes before birding the 6th after hitting my approach to 4 feet, I then added another birdie at 8 after pitching to two feet and an easy birdie. After 9 holes I was two under for the round and 3 under for the tournament and slowly moving in the right direction.

Over the coming holes I couldn’t convert anymore birdie chances and again I made a par on the short par 5 15th which felt like a bogey after missing a 4 footer for birdie, I then three putted the 16th for bogey and I was 2 under for the tournament. I had around 15ft on 17 for birdie which I left just short and then finished up the round with a solid two putt from the front of the green after miss judging my approach.

So for the 3rd day in a row I had shot 69, which for a long time looked like it may have been good enough to play the last round, but in the end I came up 1 short and missed the cut.

Throughout the two tournament rounds I gave myself 19 birdie chances inside of 15ft, which shows that I was hitting the ball well and not quite converting my good play into good scores.

Next up is the Sweetspot Classic next week at Longhirst Hall near Newcastle, a tournament I am especially looking forward to as Sweetspot is a company I have a strong connection with.

