Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today I was up at St Annes Old Links for their St Annes Series, a two man betterball Pro Am format. St Annes has in the past been used for both European Tour School and Final Qualifying for the Open Championship and it has many challenging holes especially when the wind is blowing. It is a true links course with deep bunkers strategically placed to catch a ball just slightly straying off course.

We didn’t have the winds of yesterday, which made for a pleasant change, although it was still fairly cold and only the bravest of golfers where out. I shot 73 which included a lot of good golf and a couple of poor shots. A lost ball coupled with two three putts were the downside, but a number of good approach shots set up many birdie opportunities and all though I didn’t take them all, I converted four throughout the round which improved the score a fraction. With three of them coming from within 6 feet after solid wedge approaches. My partner and I managed to dovetail fairly well and we finished with 42 points which was good enough for second place. The scoring for the individual section hadn’t been completed when we left so not sure of my position.

 

 

