Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today was my first competitive golf of 2013 and after nearly 2 months since I last played competitively, I was keen to get back playing, despite it being early February and the weather and courses not being up to to scratch. So it was off to Formby Hall for the first Liverpool Alliance event. Formby Hall is a challenging course close to Southport and it has held both European Challenge Tour and Europro Tour events in the past.

I hit the ball pretty solid, hitting 13 greens in a strong biting wind, which at times made the course play a lot longer than the card suggested. An example of this was the par 4 15th which was 440 yds but took a drive, 3 wood and then a pitch of 60 yards to find the green. It was good to assess areas that I have been working on lately and to see what needs further work. I shot 73 which wasn’t too bad in the conditions and I felt good about all areas of my game, even though I managed to make only 2 birdies including one on the closing par 5 18th. Scoring was tough with the cold and the wind, to make things more interesting nearly all of the flags were cut within a yard or two of the edges of the greens, meaning getting close enough for good birdie opportunities was tough.

