Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This week is my last event of 2012 and I am out in Turkey for the Christmas Classics Pro Am. The tournament is being played at the Gloria Golf Club over the New course in Belek and there are 20 professionals playing 3 rounds for a prize fund of 50,000 euros. It is a unique event in that there are both male and female professionals trying to take home the 10,000 first prize. We are staying at the 5* Gloria Serenity Resort with each professional being provided with a 2 bedroom villa for the duration, we are certainly being well looked after.

So the first round was played today and I started my round on the 6th hole, after opening with a par, I birdied the 7th after pitching upto 5ft. I went onto bogey the 8th after failing to get up and down from the side of the green. After this I went onto make 7 pars in a row with a couple of good up and downs in that run of holes.  I stopped the par run on the 16th when I pitched upto 3ft and rolled it in for birdie, this was followed by another birdie on the 18th after getting up and down from the side of the green.

Onto the front 9 and I had a couple of great chances for birdies on 1 and 2 but both lipped out, then a poor 3 putt from the back of the green on 3 dropped me back to -1. A good approach to 3ft on 4, gave me another birdie and I hit a lovely shot into the 5th my last hole, but it took a firm bounce and went over the green and I didn’t manage to save par and so I was round in 71 -1.

It was a day that was close to being very good, but tomorrow is another chance to see what I can do.

 

 

 

