Tags

, , , , , ,

This week the Liverpool Alliance was at Houghwood Golf Club not far from St. Helens. We started our round at 9 with visibility down to less than a couple hundred yards due to fog.

I opened up with a couple of steady pars, before hitting my approach on the third to a couple of feet for an easy birdie. I then went onto par the next four holes, followed up with a bogey on the 8th after finding the greenside bunker. I finished up the front 9 with a par and so I was out in level par.

Onto the 10th and after a good tee shot I rolled in the birdie putt from 12ft. A par on 11 was followed with another birdie on the 12th after driving a couple of yards short of the green and chipping to a couple of feet. The 13th brought a par, then I birdied the 14th with a good putt from 15ft. Unfortunately I gave two shots back on the 15th after missing the green and following it up with a 3 putt for a double bogey. On the 16th I took too much club and flew the green, from over the back I hit a great pitch that rolled up to the hole and lipped out, finishing a couple of inches away. I finished off strongly with 2 birdies over the closing two holes, firstly a two putt birdie on 17, then a pitch into 18 to a couple of feet.

I finished up with a round 68 -3 and in the pro am section, my partner and I managed 43 pts with 24pts on the back nine.

