Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday was the first round of the Alliance Championships being played at Ormskirk GC near Liverpool. The Championships is spread over two weeks with both rounds being played at Ormskirk GC this year. I won the trophy last year and would love to win it again this time around, as it is always great to get your name on trophies.

I opened up with three pars, before dropping a shot on the par 3 fourth after hitting my tee shot through the back of the green and failing to get up and down. I then made pars on the next 3 holes. I made a good birdie on the long 8th after holing out from around 18ft. Two good shots into the middle of the par 5 9th was followed up with a 3 putt par. So I was out in level par.

Onto the back nine and I made another birdie on 10 after pitching into 10ft and rolling it in. I then went onto par the next 6 holes despite threatening the hole with each birdie try. Another birdie did come on 17 after I hit my tee shot to 6ft. I finished off the round with a bogey at the last after missing the green left.

I ended up with a round of 69 which hopefully puts me in a decent position going into next weeks second round, whether it does or not, I hit a lot of good shots and the areas I have been working on showed good positive signs of improvement.

 

 

