Tags

, , , , , ,

It was off to Southport this morning and Hesketh Golf Club for this weeks Alliance and considering the amount of rain we have had it was a surprise that we actually played as most courses locally are waterlogged, with no signs of drying out.

So we teed off at 8.40 and I started the round perfectly making birdies on the 1st and 2nd after holing out from 12ft on the 1st and 20ft on the 2nd. I gave those shots back on the 3rd after hitting my approach over the back of the green and then 3 putting after chipping on. I then parred the next three holes before bogeying the 7th after a 3 putt. On 8 I made a lovely up and down after my approach stayed just above the greenside bunker, I couldn’t play the shot right handed so I turned my wedge round and played it left handed and it came out perfect and started tracking towards the hole, I actually started to celebrate it going in only for it to hit the flag dead on and bounce to the side of the hole. I dropped another shot on the 9th after a 3 putt.

Onto the back 9 and I lost my tee shot on the 10th after plugging it in the right semi and with so much water around it was impossible to find. I dropped another shot on 11 after failing to get up and down. I made par on 12 before a good approach into 6ft on 13 led to a birdie. I would make a bogey on 14, but another good shot that very nearly spun into the hole on 15 resulted in a birdie. I made par on 16. A good tee shot down 17 left me with a 5 iron into the green which I hit too well and flew it over the back, from here I made up and down for my 5th birdie of the day. After failing to hit the last green in two I hit my pitch upto 6ft and then the birdie try slipped by.

I finished up shooting 75, which I am disappointed with, but there were many positives from the round as my putting was feeling really good, considering the greens had just been hollowed tinned as well as being very soft, putting was difficult. I also hit a number of good wedge shots which set up the birdies. It is truly like playing winter golf now.

 

 

