Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday I played at Caldy GC on the Wirral in the National Alliance Championships. With the rain passing through early it turned into a great golfing day, considering it is now the middle of October.

We started our round at 8.40 and I opened up with 5 pars, I had a couple of good chances within those holes which I didn’t make, but I made a couple of good up and downs to keep the round going. I went onto bogey the 6th after 3 putting from around 60ft after driving into the fairway bunker. I finished off the front nine with another 3 pars whilst hitting good shots on each of the holes.

Onto the back nine and I made a good up and down for par on 10 after coming up a little short with my tee shot. I then gave myself good chances for birdies on 11 and 12, firstly from 12ft on 11 and then 4ft on 12 after hitting a great 9 iron second shot, I misread both putts and walked off both with pars. I then drove it in a fairway bunker on 13 and could only advance it forward 20 yds, I didn’t get up and down and so dropped a shot. Over the closing holes I hit a lot of good shots and a lot of good putts with none dropping until the 18th when I rolled in my first birdie of the day from 11ft.

I finished the day with a 73, I was really pleased with the way I hit the ball and also with the way I putted. The problem was only making one birdie.

