Tags

, , , , ,

Wednesday was round 2 of European Tour School and I started my round from the 1st tee at 12.30. I opened up with a couple of solid pars on the first two holes, before bogeying three and four after missing putts from four feet on both. I went onto par five and six, after knocking it close on both holes and despite hitting good putts on both they just didn’t drop. A poor approach into seven cost me a bogey after failing to get up and down. I made pars on eight and nine, the par on nine coming after driving in the rough and failing to hit the green, I hit a lovely high lob shot out of the thick rough to four feet which I rolled in.

A three putt bogey on ten came after hitting the wrong side of the slope in the green and leaving myself a long way from the hole. I then made pars on the next two after birdie putts just slipped by on both holes. Then onto the thirteenth I hit a great 5 iron to 8 feet behind the flag and rolled it in for a good birdie on this tough hole, I followed this up with an even better birdie on the next hole after hitting a rescue 12 feet right of the hole and knocking the putt in dead centre. I made good up and downs on fourteen and fifteen after just missing both greens by a couple of yards. I would go on to drop shots on the last two holes, firstly on seventeen after hitting my tee shot in the bunker right of the green which left a long bunker shot, I tried to play a running shot and just didn’t carry it far enough and I ended up two putting from there. On 18 I hit a poor tee shot which found the water right of the fairway, after taking a drop I played the hole out well and lipped out for par after hitting a very good putt.

All of this added up to a round of 76 and a +9 total which put me in 50th place after two rounds. A big positive of the round was that my putting was showing signs of sparking into life.

