Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday was round 3 of qualifying and I was off at 8.40 from the first tee. After laying up in position on the 1st I hit my approach into 8 feet past the flag and rolled in the putt for birdie. On the second I hit a great 7 iron that never left the flag and looked as if it was going to drop in for a 1, but it actually was 6 feet short when we got up there, I hit a good putt and I was now -2 through 2, the perfect start. I gave back both shots back on the third after hitting a big block into the trees right of the fairway, I eventually two putted for double bogey. I dropped another shot on the long 4th. Over the next few holes I started hitting the ball well again and giving myself birdie chances. A poor approach on 9 left me in the greenside bunker and I hit a great shot to 4 feet past the flag and rolled it in for another par.

I went onto to par the next four holes, before dropping shots on 14 and 15. On 14 because of missing the green with a wedge and despite hitting a very good shot out of the thick rough, the par putt from 5 feet slipped past. The bogey on 15 was down to being too aggressive with my first putt and missing the return. I made pars on 16 and 17 before dropping a shot on the last hole after hitting my second shot in the hazard boarding the right of the hole.

All of this added upto a 76 and my chances of gaining a European Tour Card for 2013 was over. It is always frustrating to not play good golf and especially when this tournament only comes round once a year, but there are many opportunities to continue to improve. Now I will take the time to assess what areas I need to focus my attention on and work on them to come out next season a lot stronger than this season.

 

