Tags

, , , ,

Today was the start of the quest to gain a European Tour card for 2013, I have to negotiate 3 stages and a total of 14 rounds to be able to tee up around the world next year with the best players. I chose to play Stage 1 at Wychwood Park in Crewe, a course I know, with me being attached there.

So I started my round this morning at 8.10 from the 10th tee and I opened up with a bogey. I went onto par the next 3 holes before hitting it in the water on 14 and making double bogey. I dropped another shot on 15 after a poor approach into the green. After this I started to give myself a number of good birdie chances, but couldn’t convert any of them. Onto the front nine and I missed the green on the third, which I followed up with a good bunker shot and saved par after rolling in a 4 footer. A bogey on 4 after failing to get up and down from the edge of the green was followed up with a couple of good birdies chances that slipped by. Onto the 7th and after a good approach to 8 feet I rolled in the putt to record my first birdie of the day. I gave the shot back on 8 after poor tee shot left me in trouble and I couldn’t reach the green. A closing par on the last meant I was round in 77.

Not the first round I was looking for, but tomorrow is new day and chance to post a great score which I know is well within my grasp. After day 1 I am sat in a tie for 53rd place, with the top 23 progressing to stage 2 in Spain in November.

 

