Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Today was the opening round of the Sweetspot Classic on The PGA Europro at Longhirst Hall.

I started off my round at 1107 and with a strong wind the course was going to be playing very tough with lots of water bordering the fairways. A day were patience was going to be key. I dropped three shots early, through the first six holes, from the fact of hitting a couple of shots only a fraction offline. After this I strung together a number of good shots, but found it difficult to give myself any outstanding chances for birdies, so I went on a run of 8 pars in a row before dropping a sloppy shot on 15 after failing to get up and down from the side of the green. I managed a birdie on 16, but gave the shot back on the tough 17th. A par to finish and I was round in 74. It felt like I let slip a few too many shots, but it was certainly a day were mistakes were happening all over the course, with the wind blowing across many of the holes. So I finished the day in a tie for 35th.

Tomorrow’s second round gets under way for me at 7.47 and the key again will be patience.

 

 

