Tags

, , , , , ,

Thursday was round 2 of the Europro event being played at Wychwood Park. The winds had died down from Wednesday and there was some warmth in the air. I teed off from the 10th at 1.55 and after blocking my opening tee shot, I was blocked out by trees and I hit a 30 yard hook round the trees and onto the green, it was probably one of my best shots of the season. The birdie putt hit the hole and stayed out. Onto the 11th and I made par after hitting the green and two putting. 12 gave me a good look at birdie after hitting it 15ft behind the hole, but the putt stayed up on the high side. I hit a good approach that bounced through the back of the green on 13th and I failed to get up and down. A poor tee shot on 14 left me in a fairway bunker and from here I hit 6 iron onto the green and the birdie putt had a good look as it slipped by. A good drive on 15 left me in perfect position, from here I hit a poor iron into the right bunker and failed to get up and down. Two good shots on 16 left me on the back fringe 20ft from the hole and I didn’t give the birdie putt enough and had to settle for par. Another good approach on 17 came up 20ft short and the birdie try again slipped by. I played the 18th well and despite my pitch shot in, carrying to far I was left with 15ft for birdie which just missed on the low side.

I pulled my tee shot on the 1st into the left rough and then made a course management error in hitting the ball too far into the cross bunkers and I then followed this up with two poor shots and I two putted for bogey from around 35ft. Onto the par 3 second I hit my tee shot and it never left the flag and pitched just short and it came within a few inches of dropping for a 1 but I rolled in the birdie from two feet. I again hit a great shot into 3 that again came within inches of dropping and I knocked in another birdie from two feet. After a good tee shot on 4, I didn’t commit to my second and came up short and right of the green and I didn’t get up and down from there. A couple of good shots down 5 and I had a good birdie chance from inside 10ft that lipped out on the high side. Onto to the tough 6th and I hit a good shot but just came up just short of the green and my chip was close to dropping and I rolled in the 3 footer coming back for par. A great drive down 7 was followed by one of the poorest shots of the week, I hit my lay up left into the hazard boarding the fairway and ending up making bogey. Two good shots down 8 over the flag and I had a good look at birdie that I didn’t give enough borrow and had to settle for par. I hit a good tee shot down 9 and a good approach, my birdie just slipped by the right edge and rolled out 3ft past, from here I hit my par putt too firm and straight through the break and had to tap in for a closing bogey.

So I missed the cut by 4 in the end, I hit a lot of very good shots, but a couple of destructive shots which cost me both in score and momentum. So I am a few days to work on a few things before the Sweetspot Classic at Longhirst Hall starting on Thursday.

 

Round Stats 76

Putts 34

Greens 12/18

Fairways 11/14

Birdies 2

 

 

