Tags

, , , , , , ,

Yesterday was the first round of this weeks PGA Europro event being played at Wychwood Park in Crewe. With the course in great shape and my game feeling very close to producing some great scores, I was looking forward to this event.

I started my round at 8.55 from the 1st tee and with breezy conditions, I started off with birdie after hitting my approach into 3ft. Pars came on 2,3 and 4 after hitting into 15ft on the second, then missing the green on 3 and chipping up to within inches of the cup. On 4 I hit into long rough short and left of the green, but hit a great lob shot to within 3ft of the hole. I pushed my tee shot into the right rough on 5 and got a flyer with my second and it bounced just through the back of the green, from here I failed to get up and down and dropped a shot to fall back to level par. A really good shot into the long par 3 6th left me with 10ft for birdie, which hung up on the high side and I had to settle for par, I again lipped out for birdie on 7 and then hit into 10ft behind the hole on 8 for another good look at birdie that slipped by. A good drive down 9 and from there I hit a 6 iron right of the flag which just caught the greenside bunker, when we got up there we could just make out a golf ball under the lip, you could only see a few dimples of the ball, so after identifying it, I decided to take a penalty which inevitably plugged. From here I hit it 15ft past the flag and then horseshoed the putt and had to settle for a double bogey without really hitting a bad shot.

Onto 10 and I hit a good tee shot and followed that with an approach to 6ft and rolled it in for birdie. A poor shot into 11 left me with 35ft for birdie which I raced past but rolled in the return for par. I parred 12, before hitting a sloppy tee shot into the fairway bunker on 13, from here I hit a rescue and cut it into the hazard boarding the right side. We found the ball and I decided to take a risk and try and play it, it came out perfect and it managed to run up and onto the green. From here I two putted for bogey. I made birdie on 14 after hitting my approach into 8ft and rolling the putt in. I made pars on 15, 16 and 17 before making a sloppy bogey on 18 after pitching on and 3 putting.

It was a day when I hit a lot of good shots, but a couple of shots not how I wanted which cost me. I tee off in the second round at 1.55 today and I am looking forward to  having the chance to post a great score.

Round Stats

Score 74

Putts 30

Greens 11/18

Fairways 11/14

Birdies 3

 

