Tags

, , , , , ,

My final round started at 9.56 from the first tee and with the weather set fair it would be another day for good scoring. I started off with pars at the first two holes, then I pulled my tee shot on the par 5th and so couldn’t reach the green in 3 after pitching onto the green I three putted for double bogey. A good shot into 4 gave me a birdie try from 8ft but the putt lipped out on the high side. Good approaches on 5 and 6 couldn’t be converted, another a good approach into 3ft on 7 led to a birdie. I came up short with my tee shot on 8 after hitting it on line and I made a good putt for par to keep the round going. I didn’t make birdie on 9 after hitting a good approach that just caught a slope right of the flag that took the ball further away from the hole. For the third day running I hit a soft 3 wood into the par 3 10th around 25ft beyond the flag and I rolled this in for another birdie.

no preview

I missed the green on the 11th put my chip just shaved the hole and I rolled in a four footer for par. I then gave myself birdie tries on 12 and 13 from 9 and 15ft, the birdie try on 12 lipping out on the high side and the birdie try on 13 lipping out on the low side. I misjudged the wind on 14 and left myself with a long putt for birdie which I two putted for par. My approach on 15 was very close to being very good but caught the greenside bunker less than 20 feet from the flag, up against the face I didn’t get it out on my first try, second attempt I hit it to two feet and rolled it in for bogey. I had a chance to put this right on the next hole after hitting 3 good shots into 10 feet behind the flag, but the putt didn’t want to drop. I hit a poor shot into 17 way right of the green into a bunker and from here I had 40yds to the flag over another bunker with no view of the green and only a view of the top of the flag, I hit a great shot to 2 feet and rolled it in for a very good par. A great tee shot on 18 left me with a rescue into the green which I pulled slightly into the back of a bunker, off the downslope I couldn’t get it close and so had to settle for knocking it out 30 feet beyond the flag, from here I 3 putted for a closing double bogey. A disappointing way to finish the tournament, but over the three rounds I hit plenty of good shots and I am happy with how my game is progressing. So I shot a final round of 74 and finished in a tie for 35th. Next week is the next Europro event at Mar Hall just west of Glasgow, with the tournament starting on Wednesday.

