Tags

, , , , , ,

no preview

After a week off it was up to Scotland for the Eagle Orchid Scottish Masters on the PGA Europro being played at Rowallan Castle a new course not far from Kilmarnock. The tournament started on Wednesday and I started my round at 1.25pm from the first tee. With the course playing long after a lot of recent rain and a strong wind blowing across the course, it was definitely a day to be patient. I started off by making up and downs for pars on the opening two holes, I then hit a great shot into three feet on the third, unfortunately I didn’t hole it and had to settle for par. I went on to par the next 3 holes before making a bogey on 7 after not getting up and down for par after my approach bounced through the back of the green. The next two holes I had good looks for birdies that just slipped by on each.

no preview

Then onto the 250yd par 3 10th with the tee moved up it was still playing 230yds straight into the wind, I hit a good 3 wood that just fell off the side of the green into the greenside bunker, after splashing out I made a good par save. I found another greenside bunker on 11, but this time the par putt from 5 feet slipped by on the right side and I was now 2 over for the day. I then made pars on 12,13 and 14 despite giving myself chances for birdies. A poor drive on 15 left me in the fairway bunker, which I could only advance 50yds up the fairway, from here I wedged on and two putted for bogey. I played 16 and 17 well and hit two good putts that just didn’t want to drop. Then onto the last and I pulled my tee shot in the semi rough down the left side, from I here I hit probably the shot of the day a 3 wood just left of the flag to around 18ft on this long and tough par 4. I hit a great putt and was sure it was in only for it to horseshoe out and I had to settle for par. So I signed for a first round of 74 and I finished the day in a tie for 33rd.

