Tags

, , , , , ,

Thursday was round 2 of the Buildbase Open at Frilford Heath and I teed off in the afternoon at 1.32, this time starting on the 1st, I hit a good opening tee shot down the left side of the fairway and followed it up with a good approach just left of the flag. I under borrowed the birdie try and had to settle for par. I had putts for birdies over the next three holes, but I was struggling with my pace on the greens and I holed some good putts for par to keep the round going.

Onto 5 and after a good drive, I found myself in a divot facing 45 degrees left, I dug at it with a 7 iron and it came out low and on line, with the greens being soft the ball just plugged at the front of the green and I was left with around 30ft for birdie, which I rolled in for my first birdie of the tournament. A good drive down the next was followed up by a slightly pulled second just left of the green, my bump and run chip shot just missed the flag and ran 9ft past and my putt back for birdie hit the hole but didn’t drop.

I went onto make bogies at the 7th and 8th after finding the semi rough from the tee. I would go on to make pars at 9,10 and 11 after just missing the birdies on each. A pushed approach into 12 left me in the greenside bunker, after a good shot out, I rolled in a 6 footer for par. Onto 13 and after not quite reaching the top tier where the pin was cut, I rolled my putt in for birdie. I would then go onto par 14 before driving in the thick rough down 15, from which I hit just had to pitch out and look for an up and down for par from 80yds which I very nearly did, only for my putt from 10ft to lip out.

I would go on to two putt the last three holes for par and sign for a 73 which left me on 147 +3 total, which was what the cut eventually fell at. I again I hit the ball solidly and it felt as if I was getting closer to holing a lot of putts.

Round Stats

Score 73

Putts 33

Greens 14/18

Fairways 12/14

Birdies 2

