Tags

, , , , ,

Thursday was the second round of this weeks Europro event and after heavy overnight rain which flooded the greens and some bunkers, there was a delay of 1 hour. This meant I started my round at 2.36 from the first tee.

I started off by pulling my tee shot into a fairway bunker, from here I safely found the green and my birdie try from around 40ft stopped inches short of falling in. I found another fairway bunker on the second, but hit a good approach here to 15ft beyond the flag, the putt had good pace but just stayed on the high side. I thought I hit a great shot into 3 only for it to carry to far and bounce down the hill behind the green, I hit a poor pitch long and went on to 3 putt for a double bogey. I got back to hit quality shots off the next few holes, only to see birdie tries from around 15ft on holes 4 through 7 all lip out. On 8 I misjudged the pace of my birdie try from 30ft and left myself with 3 feet for par which I rolled into the centre of the cup. After getting out of position with my layup on 9 I caught my approach a little heavy out of the wet rough and came up short of the green, from here I hit a good lob shot and rolled in a 3 footer for par, to make the turn in +2.

I made par on 10 after a good 2 putt down the slope from behind the flag. I then made bogies on 11 and 12 after three putting 11 and missing the green on 12. I gave myself a good chance for birdie on 13, but slightly misread it and had to settle for par. I made birdie on the 14th after hitting my approach shot to 15ft beyond the flag, I then gave myself a great look for birdie on 15 after hitting my tee shot in to 9 feet. I hit a solid putt that just stayed out on the high side. I hit a great tee shot down 16 into perfect position and needing birdies I went straight for the pin and just pulled it a fraction which made it fly that little bit further and over the back, from here I didn’t make up and down for par. A good drive down 17 and pitch to 15ft behind the flag gave me a look at birdie which just slipped by. Onto the final hole of the day and after missing the fairway to the right, I was forced to pitch it forward and I then laid up short of the green and pitched on, after being too aggressive with my first putt, I missed the return.

I ended up shooting 78 and missed the cut by 6 shots. On day 1, I struck the ball very well giving myself a lot of birdie chances. Day 2, I drove the ball poorly which with the rough being wet, meant I didn’t hit it close enough to make birdie’s.

Round Stats

Score 78

Putts 37

Greens 13/18

Fairways 7/14

Birdies 1

