Tags

, , , , , ,

Wednseday was the first round of the WSL Open being played at Collingtree Park Golf Club on the PGA Europro. I started my round at 8.36 from the tenth tee and with the sun shining and no real wind to speak of, it would be a day of low scoring.

I hit a lot of good shots early on and gave myself good birdie chances on the first three holes which failed to drop, a poor 6 iron approach into the 13th meant I dropped a shot after not getting up and down. I made pars on the next three holes, with the par on 15 coming after a good tee shot that bounced over the back of the green, I made up and down from the thick collar of rough. On the 17th I hit a good approach to 12ft right of the flag and gave the birdie try a good look at the hole, only to miss the return from 2 ½ feet and a silly bogey. I made par up the 18th after deciding to lay up on this par 5 surrounded with water.  So after 9 holes I was +2, despite playing some good golf.

Onto the 1st and after a good drive, I was left with 77yds to the hole, I hit a very good pitch, that landed in the hole and jumped out to 20ft from here I missed my birdie attempt and I felt I had dropped a shot after a great approach. A good drive down the second was followed by a poorly struck approach, but again was online and after a bounce forward I was left with 9ft for birdie which I rolled in. An aggressive approach into 3 covered the flag but just went a little long and I made up and down for par. After deciding to lay up on the par five 4th, I had 70 yds from the left rough and hit another good approach that was bang online and 3 feet short, I knocked the putt in for another birdie. The fifth is a testing par 3 with water short and long and I hit another good approach here to 15ft short of the hole, I knocked the putt in for another birdie and I was now -1 for the round. Onto 6 and my approach landed less than a foot from landing in the hole again, as I was coming out of the rough, it just jumped on a little and I had 15ft for birdie that rolled over the front the hole without dropping. Two more good shots into 7 and I had another birdie try that lipped out.  I hit my first poor approach into a green since the 13th and I failed to get up and down and dropped back to level for the day. I turned my tee shot over into the left rough on the 9th, which meant I couldn’t go for the green in two, I hit a good layup and was left with 93yds to a front pin. I hit a good approach that pitched over the flag around 10 feet long and spun back towards the hole, I thought it was going to drop in for an eagle but it stopped 2 ½ feet short and I knocked that in for birdie.

I played solid throughout the round and despite a poor front 9, a low score was still possible with a lot of good shots on the front nine.

Round Stats

Score 71

Putts 30

Greens 13/18

Fairways 10/14

Birdies 4

