Tags

, , , , , , ,

Wednesday was the first round of the first PGA Europro event of the year at Wensum Valley near Norwich. I was scheduled to start at 11.17 for round 1 and 6.49 for round 2. The weather was not looking great and it was looking likely that there might be a few interruptions through out the day. So we started our round from the 1st tee and the rain had come in, I opened up with a bogey after pulling my tee shot into the trees bordering the left side of the fairway. I made par up the second , then a bogey on 3 after hitting my tee shot into the fairway bunker. After 3 holes the klaxon went and we were brought in off the course due to a number of the greens flooding. After nearly 4 hours waiting around for the weather to clear, we got back out onto the course and I made pars on 4, 5 and 6 before the rain started coming back down again. I made another par on 7 followed by a 3 putt bogey on 8, at this point the referee’s were hard at work squeegeeing the greens to remove the standing water on the greens and it was looking likely that we would be pulled off the course again. We played the 9th hole and by the time we got to the green the water was coming out of the hole and play had to be abandon for the day. It was at this point we were told that the tournament was to be shortened from 54 to 36 holes with the cut now coming after 18 holes. So we restarted our round at 7.30 on Thursday morning and with not being able to reach the par 4 10th in two I made a bogey to start the day, I then went onto par the next 3 holes before I bogeyed the par 5 14th after I was too aggressive with my approach and it jumped over the back of the green and I didn’t make the up and down for par. I then made pars on 15, 16 and 17 before having a putt from around 9 feet for birdie on the last which I was too aggressive with and missed the return for par.

So I ended up shooting 80 and missed the 18 hole cut which fell at 75, it was a tough week with a few stoppages and poor weather, a shortened event also leaves no room for error. Not a good result but easy to forget and I look forward to playing again.

 

