Tags

, , , , ,

Today I played in the Liverpool Alliance at Eastham Lodge on the Wirral, a short but very tricky layout. We are started our round at 10 with a light drizzle and a cold breeze. I opened up with a par 4 after two putting from around 30 feet. On the second hole I hit a hybrid through the dogleg and into the edge of the trees, a chip and run with a 6 iron came up just short of the green and a good pitch left me with 10ft for par that I left on the edge of the hole. I made par at the 3rd after 2 putting from 30ft. A good drive down 5 and I was blocked out, with a big oak tree in my way. I decided to hit a driver off the deck to keep it low and I struck it lovely but it rose too much and caught the tree and dropped down. A 6 iron just off the right of the green was followed by a good chip to 4 feet that I over borrowed, which meant I was in for a double bogey. After missing the green on 5 I chipped up to 4 feet and hit another good putt that lipped out. The next couple of holes gave me looks at birdies that just missed, on the 8th I rolled in my birdie try from 15ft. On the next two holes I gave myself further good chances for birdies and on both occasions hit good putts without them dropping. On the 11th I rolled in another 15 footer for birdie. More birdie chances came over the next few holes which for one reason or another didn’t fall. An aggressive shot into 17 flew the flag and finished in a greenside bunker, from here I hit a good shot that ran out too much but hit the hole on the way past and I went onto make the return putt from around 8ft. I finished off the round with a regulation par.

After a poor start it was pleasing to give myself plenty of birdie chances and finish off shooting 70.

 

