Tags

, , , , , ,

Today I played in the Liverpool Alliance at Houghwood. The day was looking good with blue skies and a gentle breeze. I started my round at 10am and after opening with a good tee shot and a good approach with a 52 wedge I left my putt short for birdie from 10ft. I would go on to three putt the next two holes for bogies after being too aggressive. I got the dropped shots back after holing putts from 6 and 3 feet for birdies on holes 5 and 6. I then hit solid approaches into 7 and 8 but just a little far away and I would 2 putt both of them for pars. I was too aggressive with my approach into 9 and just missed the green left, but I was still inside 20ft. My chip came up just short and I knocked in the putt for par.

On 10 I hit my tee shot with a 4 iron from 193yds to just over 20ft and rolled it in for birdie. I kept giving myself plenty of birdie chances but struggled to read the putts and none of them dropped. 16 I was too aggressive with my try for birdie and ended up 3 putting for bogey, over the last two holes, I again had good chances for birdies and hit good putts without either dropping. I ended up shooting 71, I hit the ball well, hitting 17 greens, but found it very hard to read the greens and despite hitting lots of good putts, I couldn’t get the ball to drop.

 

 

