Tags

, , , , , ,

Today I was over in Stockport near Manchester playing in the 1836 Tour Pro Am. A course I haven’t played in about 10 years.  With the round starting at 11.30 just as the temperature was reaching the low 20’s. I hit a good tee shot off the first followed by an approach on line but a club short, from here I didn’t get up and down and started with a bogey. I gave myself good chances to get the shot back on the next two holes, but just shaved the hole on both of them. My tee shot down 4 just found the semi rough and I was impeded from the branches of an overhanging tree, my attempt to reach the green came up 50 yds short and I would take three to get down from here for a bogey. A good shot into 5 left me with around 18ft for birdie that just slipped by. Two good shots into the middle of the next green would give me a putt for eagle that didn’t drop but a tap in for birdie. The next hole was a driveable par 4 with out of bounds down the right, unfortunately I blocked my tee shot a couple of yards out of bounds and I had to take three off the tee, which ended in the greenside bunker, from here I came very close to making up and down. Two more good approaches into 8 and 9 and two more good putts, but two pars. I missed the fairway down 10 in the fairway bunker and from here I couldn’t reach the green, after knocking it up the fairway I hit my 3rd to about 10ft behind the flag. My putt for par lipped out and I missed the return so ended with a double bogey. I hit a good shot into 11 and hit another good putt that slipped by. Two good shots down 12, followed by a chip and putt resulted in a birdie. A good approach into 13 left me with around 7ft for birdie which I misread and had to settle for par. An approach into 12ft on 14 led to another birdie after I rolled the putt into the middle of the cup. I would not hit close enough over the next two holes and go on to two putt both of them for pars. I gave myself a makeable birdie try from 15ft on 17 which hit the hole but didn’t drop. A good drive down 18 was followed by a pitch into 6ft, which had a little left to right in it, I would hit a good putt and rolled it in for a closing birdie. So after a poor start, I managed to play the last 7 holes in 3 under to shoot 73 and finish in 17th. The course was in great shape apart from the greens which had recently been hollowtined and were extremely bumpy.

