Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today I played in the Liverpool Alliance at Ormskirk. It was the first time I have been able to play an event this year in a T shirt, which was a great feeling after the last few months. To go with the warmth, there was a challenging breeze. I started my round at 10am and after opening with a good tee shot my approach with a 7 iron found the front bunker and plugged, from here I played a good shot that came out a lot higher and softer than I thought and finished 10ft short. My par try slipped by and I opened with bogey. I parred the second before hitting a hybrid into 3ft on 3 which I rolled in for birdie. I would go on to two putt the next 6 holes for pars. A good tee shot down 10 left me too close to the green despite hitting 3 wood for position, I ended up making bogey after being too cute with my approach. After this I would go on to two putt the next 3 holes for par. A poor approach into the par three 14th left me in the greenside bunker and from here I made up and down after holing out for par from 12ft. A good chance for birdie just slipped by on 15, before I rolled in a 15 footer on 16 for birdie to get back to level for the day. A good approach on 16 gave me another good look at birdie from 15ft but this time it didn’t quite take the break. A great approach into 6ft on the last after hitting 8 iron from 155yds set up a final birdie and a round of 69. I hit a couple of sloppy shots throughout the round but overall played fairly solid in the tough wind. My score of 69 was good enough to give me a two shot victory.

