Tags

, , , , ,

Today I was back up to Fairhaven where I won a couple of weeks ago this time playing in the 1836 Tour Pro Am. The course was in great shape, with greens that were rolling out great. I teed off at 1130 with my amateur partner Malcolm Wells and I played some solid golf throughout, opening up with a couple of pars before two putting for birdie on the 3rd. A couple more two putt pars came on 4 and 5. Then I gave myself chances inside 10ft for birdie on the next two holes which would just slip by. Then on 8 a poor approach to 30ft found the bottom of the cup for birdie and I was 2 under and only 1 ahead of my 6 handicap partner who was playing some great golf. I parred the 9th to make the turn in 2 under. I bogied the 10th after missing the green with a poor approach, but got the shot back with a 2 putt birdie on the next. I then went onto par the next 3 holes before holing out for birdie from 4ft on 15, I would go on to give the shot back after 3 putting from distance on the long 16. A par on 17 was followed up with two putts from the front of the 18th green for a closing birdie. So I finished the round with a 3 under par 70 which left me in 13th. I was happy with the way I played and my putting was much improved even though I didn’t hole that many, they nearly all had a chance of going in. Malcolm played very well throughout and we managed 7 under as a team.

