Tags

, , , , ,

Today I played in the Liverpool Alliance at S & A Golf Club (Southport & Ainsdale) near Liverpool. The course was in great shape, the day started off looking very bleak but the rain passed through very quick and we were left with a strong wind, which picked up throughout the round. This made the course play very tricky. We started off at  9.57. The first at S & A is a tough par 3 playing 196yds into a left to right wind. I missed the green just left and chipped up stone dead for an opening par. I would par the 2nd before making a birdie at the 3rd after hitting my approach into 3ft.  I would then par the next 3 holes and after hitting the par 5 7th in two I 3 putted from around 50ft for par. I hit a great 5 iron into 12ft at the next a par 3 playing 140yds and rolled the putt in for birdie. Another couple of good shots into 9 left me with an eagle putt of 18ft which I would unfortunately 3 putt for par. So I was 2 under through 9. A great shot into 3ft with a 5 iron on the par 3 10th set up another birdie. I dropped a couple of shots on 12 and 13 after a bit of bad luck. I then played the next few holes well before hitting a great shot into the par 4 17th with my hybrid into 9ft which I rolled in to get me back to 2 under. A drive down 18 into the right rough was followed by what I thought was a perfect shot only for it release out to 20ft behind the flag and from here I 3 putted for a closing bogey. I played really solid in the winds and was very pleased with my game, a couple of poor putts dented the scorecard. So I finished up the day in 2nd place 1 shot behind the winner.

 

 

 

