Tags

, , , , ,

Today I was playing Hesketh in Southport in an 1836 Tour Pro Am. We are started our round at 11am from the first tee. The weather was just perfect with temperatures up around 14 degrees and blue sky. I started off well after hitting my approach into 3 feet  and rolling the putt in for birdie. I would drop the shot back on the second after missing my par putt from 3ft. Another shot would go on the par 3 4th after 3 putting. I hit many good shots over the next few holes, but couldn’t get the putts to drop. After making pars all  the way to the 13th, I found an unplayable lie 50yds short of the green, from here I had to play out sideways and then pitch on. After doing this I 3 putted for an ugly double bogey. On the 15th, a hill obscures your view and I thought I had hit a perfect tee shot only to find the bunker in the middle of the fairway. I couldn’t reach the green from here and didn’t make up and down. A 3 putt on 17 cost me another bogey, before I two putted the last from the fringe for a closing birdie. I finished up the round with a 76 which left me 26th position. I hit plenty of good shots that I didn’t take advantage of through poor putting and a couple of shots that weren’t bad, cost me a number of shots too. I know what to work on over the coming weeks to make me more consistent.

