Tags

, , , , ,

Today I was back up near Blackpool playing in the St Anne’s Series event at Fairhaven. The course has hosted Final Qualifying for The Open in the past. The course was in very good shape, especially for this time of year.

We started our round at 11.04 from the 1st. I started off the round well birding 3 of the first 4 holes after 2 putting from 9ft at the first for birdie, then holing from 7 and 15ft at 3 and 4. I gave myself more good chances for birdies over the next few holes and I reached the turn at 3 under and then just missed for birdie on 10 from 6ft and 3 putted for par on 11. I just missed out on birdie on 12, but I would go on to birding the 14th after holing out from around 18ft. I 3 putted the 15th for par after hitting a couple of good shots into the green. To end the round I hit two good shots into the last hole and had a putt of around 40ft for eagle that just missed on the low side. So I ended the day with a 68 which was good enough for a 3 shot win in the individual. In the Pro Am my partner and I managed 46pts which was also good enough to win the Pro Am. It was nice to have a bogey free round and also to make 5 birdies. I played solidly and felt as if I left a few shots out there, but all in all a pleasing round.

