Tags

, , , ,

Yesterday I played in The Mere Pro Am, a very good course in Cheshire that has hosted Open Regional Qualifying for the last few years. The course was in good shape, although the greens were again a little soft. We started off at 10.27 from the 12th a very good par 3 to open the round, I made bogey after failing to get up and down from the edge of the green. I gave myself chances for birdies on the next couple before birding the 15th, I would go on to bogey 16 after trying to draw my tee shot round the corner and finding the trees bordering the left side. I then birdied the next four holes after holing putts of 6, 15, 1 and 4ft to move me to 3 under on the round, putts on the next three holes for birdies would just fail to drop, before I bogeyed the next 2 after three putting both of them from distance. I finished off the round by picking up 2 more birdies in the last 4 holes, with the final birdie coming on the last from 15ft. I played a lot of good golf throughout the round and making 7 birdies was very pleasing. A few mistakes stopped it from being a very good round, but there was a lot of positives from the round. My 68 put me in a tie for 5th.

