Tags

, , , ,

Today was the second round and I started the day on the 10th tee at 10.39 after hitting a 6 iron just a little short of the par 3 green, from here I chipped up to 6ft and rolled in the putt for an opening par. After two good shots down the long par 5 11th I hit a solid 8 iron a little long of the front pin, from here my birdie putt just slipped by and I tapped in for par. A good tee shot down 12 left me in good position but my approach ballooned and plugged in the front trap and from here my first attempt hit the lip in front of me and plugged again, my next try made it onto the front of the green and my 15ft for bogey just slipped by. A pushed drive down 13 caught a fairway bunker and from here I hit a good 6 iron onto the right side of the green and then 2 putted for par. On 14 I hit a 6 iron a little bit safe and left myself with a long birdie try which had too much pace on it, a good return putt from around 6ft saved the par. Another pushed tee shot down 15 caught the fairway bunker and from here all I could do was hit an 8 iron down the fairway, I now had 165yds left into the par 5 with the pin tucked very close to the water I played safe and found the right half of the green, I misread the putt and left myself with 4ft for par which swung across the hole and didn’t drop and a bogey was the result. Two good shots down 16 gave me a good look at birdie, but the putt stayed on the high side. A good 3 wood into the par 3 17thwhich was playing into the wind left me around 40ft for birdie and after a poor first putt I holed a good putt for par. Then after a good drive down 18, I blocked my lay up slightly and it bounced into the water bordering the right side of the fairway, after a drop and an 8 iron onto the green my putt for par from 20ft stayed above ground and I dropped another shot.

Moving onto the 1st hole I hit a good drive down the fairway and hit a hybrid long and right of the green, I followed this up with a nice chip down the green, but was disappointed that it came up 6ft short but a good putt saved the par. Two good hits up the 2nd left me with 20ft for birdie down the hill and I had to settle for par as my first putt just slipped away down the slope. A great drive down 3 left me with a choice of going for the green over water or lay up, I took on the shot only to catch it a little heavy and had to watch as the ball failed to make the carry and found the water short of the green. I decided to drop back at 100yds to give myself a chance of getting close to the pin which was located close to the water’s edge and even though I pulled my approach to 8ft I rolled the putt in for a saving par. Another good drive down 4 and a pitch to 15ft left me with a look at birdie that just fell away at the last moment. Onto the par 3 5th and I pulled my hybrid tee shot into the water and again had to take a penalty drop 100yds short of the green, this time my shot in pitched 6ft short of the flag and spun back to around 18ft and I missed the bogey putt and had to record my second double bogey of the day. A good tee shot down 6 followed by a 7 iron to 8ft and I had a good look at birdie, the putt unfortunately lipped out and I had to settle for par. A good pitch into the short par 3 7th left me with 10ft for birdie which I rolled in dead centre for my first birdie of the day. A good tee shot down 8 and I hit a 6 iron that never left the flag and pitched 12 inches short before lipping out and finishing 6 inches away and an easy birdie. A pushed tee shot down 9 found a fairway bunker and my approach shot spun back off the front of the green and after I left my chip 6ft short, I hit a good putt into the middle of the hole.

So today’s round saw me slip back into a tie for 54th and 6 shots outside the likely qualifying mark. Today I hit a few loose shots that cost me dearly but a very strong finish turned the round a little bit and puts me in a good frame of mind for the next two days. Tomorrow I will cut out the mistakes and get back on track.

