Tags

, , , ,

Today was the start of European Tour Qualifying Stage 2 which for me is at Las Colinas near to Alicante in Spain. There are 4 venues throughout Spain for Stage 2 with about 80 players at each course playing 72 holes. At the end of the 4 days approximately 80 players will progress to Final Qualifying to be played at PGA de Catalunya next week.

I started my round from the 1st at 9.22 this morning. I pushed my opening tee shot into a fairway bunker from here all I could was wedge it forward 100yds from here I spun my approach off the front of the green and I made a very good up and down for bogey to limit the damage. Onto the second and a good drive down the left followed by a good approach that just came up a little short of the front pin, from here I hit a solid chip that just ran past the left edge and ran out to 3ft from here I rolled in the putt for par. Two good shots down the par 5 third left me in good position to attack the pin from just over 100yds, I attacked it a little bit too much and left myself with 15ft for birdie which only just slipped by and I had to settle for par. A good drive down 4 left me in good position but too much spin on my approach saw my ball making its way back towards the front of the green from here I two putted for par. A good approach on the par 3 fifth to around 20ft gave me a look at birdie that just stayed on the high side and I had to settle for another par. Onto 6 and a good drive down the right gave a good angle into the pin on the left side of the green, from a divot I hit an 8 iron that pitched a couple of inches left of the hole and jumped out to 5ft from here I hit a lovely putt into the middle of the hole for my first birdie of the day. Then onto the very short par 3 seventh and I hit my pitch to 7ft and rolled it in for another birdie. Another good tee shot down 8 followed by a 9 iron 15ft short of the flag, I misread the putt and had to watch as it just slipped by. Onto 9 and a good drive followed by a good 2nd into 15ft and a good putt and another birdie and I was 2 under through 9 holes.

The 10th is a good par 3 with a small green and I hit a 6 iron just right of the flag and from here I left my birdie putt short and had to settle for par. Two good shots down the long 11th left me in good position and I hit another good iron shot to 12ft which I just pulled a touch. A good drive down 12 followed by a great 9 iron to inside 4ft, from here I gave the putt too much break and it stayed on the high side and I had to tap in for par. Onto 13 and after finding the middle of the fairway I pulled my approach which left me with a long putt for birdie which I was happy to two putt for par. Onto the par 3 14th I hit my tee shot 20ft right of the flag on the fringe from here I hit my putt too hard and misread the return from 5ft and a sloppy bogey was the result. Two more good shots down 15 left me with 110yds into the par 5 and I hit my approach a little long and left and I had 15ft for birdie which I underead a fraction and the putt just slipped by on the low side. After another good drive down 16 I hit a great 7 iron to a foot and knocked it in for birdie. Unfortunately I made bogey on the long par 3 seventeenth after pulling a rescue into the green side bunker and after splashing out my par putt somehow lipped out. Onto the 18th and two good shots left me with just over 100yds from here I couldn’t hit it close enough to give a good enough look at birdie and I had to settle for par.

So I signed for a 1 under par 70 which leaves me in a tie for 27th after day 1. I start my second round tomorrow off the 10th tee at 1039 and I will be looking to improve on today’s round.

