Tags

, , , ,

Tuesday saw the start of the Qualifying process for the 2012 European Tour. My round started at 12.20 off the first tee and after two good shots down the middle I hit a soft 9 iron into 3 feet and an opening birdie. The most perfect way to start the tournament. A solid par came on the par 3 second. I then pulled my tee shot into a fairway bunker down the left side on 3 and from there I hit a 6 iron to about 12ft, it was disappointing to see the putt slide past for birdie, but a good par after the tee shot. A great drive down the long 4th left me with 178yds and from there I hit a 6 iron that never left the flag and actually lipped out for eagle but a nice easy tap in for birdie and now I was 2 under through 4. I gave myself more chances for birdies on 5,6 and 7 but didn’t convert any. Then after pulling my second into 8 I holed the curling 40 footer for birdie and now I was 3 under. I then birdied the 9th after hitting a 6 iron from 176yds to within 3ft of the cup. A very encouraging front nine meant I was 4 under.

Ten gave me another look at birdie from 20ft but I left the uphill putt just short but a tap in par. Onto 11 and I hit a lovely shot to around 10ft which I 3 putted for a very disappointing bogey but I managed to get some momentum back on the next when I holed my birdie putt from 15ft, so I was again 4 under for the day with a very tough run of holes to come. I missed the green on 13 after pushing my 4 iron approach into a greenside bunker, from here I hit a great bunker shot that so very nearly fell in for birdie. After a pushed approach on 14 I left myself a distance away but I hit a very good putt that shaved the hole and I had to settle for another par. On 15 I made a solid par then on 16 I hit my approach over the back and I left my chip back a couple of rolls short of going in for a birdie. I then hit a very good 4 iron into 8 ft on 17 and I hit a good putt that just stayed on the high side and I had to settle for a par. Onto 18 and I was too bold with my approach and saw it skip over the back and from here my chip just slipped past and I holed the return from 3 feet for par and a round of 68.

It was an ideal way to start the tournament and at the end of the day I was lying in 5th place on my own with the top 25 going through at the end of the week.

