Tags

, , , , ,

Today was the final round at Lingfield Park and I teed off at 10.20 in a tie for 20th. After hitting a good six iron just off the front edge of the green I took three putts after knocking my first putt 6 feet past and missing the return for an opening bogey. A good drive down 2 followed by a solid 5 wood to 10ft gave me a putt for eagle which I rolled in dead centre and now 1 under after two. Two solid shots down 3 gave me an outside look at birdie, which didn’t drop but a solid par. A good drive followed by a sand wedge to 6 ft at 4 gave me another birdie and I was starting to get on a roll. A good tee shot down 5 left me in perfect position but I pulled my approach onto the fringe from there I chipped it stone dead and a tap in par. The 6th was a good birdie opportunity but I pulled my wedge and after a big kick left I was left with a horrible lie, having to play off mud, I nudged it onto the green with a 9 iron and holed a 6ft for a very good up and down for par. A good approach into 7 left me with 12ft for birdie which just burned the edge of the hole on the high side and I had to settle for par. Two more good shots came on 8 and I rolled in the 10ft putt for birdie to go 3 under for the round.

9 and 10  saw my birdie chances slip by after really good putts on both. Onto 11 and my approach shot was all over the flag but landed a little short on a downslope and kicked through the back of the green from there I didn’t get up and down. Two good shots up 12 left me with 15ft putt for birdie which I over read and the putt stayed on the high side. A good 5 wood down the 13th left me with a tree infront of me and I decided to try and hook a 56 deg round the tree, I pulled the shot off perfectly and rolled in the 5ft putt for birdie to get me back to 3 under for the round again. A pulled 4 iron into the next hole left me in a greenside bunker and after splashing out I was left with 6ft which I pushed and a bogey was the result. I played the 15th well but a near impossible pin position meant I had to settle for par, this showed in the fact only 7 players birdied this reachable par 5. A good drive pin high on 16 left me with a straight forward chip that I didn’t execute well and after I missed the birdie putt I certainly felt I had dropped a shot. Two good shots on 17 gave me a look at birdie from 15ft that just slipped by. Onto 18 and after over drawing my tee shot into the left side of the fairway I hit a very poor 6 iron left of the green and from here I went under my chip and watched it plug in the face of the bunker from here I hit it out to 12ft and the putt for bogey horseshoed the hole and I had to tap in for a double bogey and a horrible way to the end the round.

I ended the tournament in a tie for 19th but I let too many shots slip by this week, there was without doubt alot more good shots through the week. Now there is a free week which I will use to continue to work on certain areas before the next Europro event at Mottram Hall.

 

