Tags

, , , ,

Today was the first round of the Lingfield Park Golf Championships and I teed off the 1st at 9.20. Lingfield Park is not a very long course but very tight and interesting in places. The wind was up and I hit a 7 iron into the first hole pin high to about 25ft from here I two putted for an opening par. Down the second I hit two good shots into the middle of the par 5 green only to three putt for par, again on 3 and 4 I hit good shots in and had good looks at birdies but neither dropped. A good tee shot round the corner on 5 left me with 145yds to the flag, my second shot was at the flag which I actually pushed a fraction, the shot caught a tree hanging over the front of the green and bounced right further into the trees from here I hit pitched onto the green and three putted for a double bogey. Another 3 putt on 6 left me 3 over par after 6 holes. Two good shots down 7 and I had a good look at birdie but it just slipped by. I pushed my tee shot a fraction down 8 into the fairway bunker and from here I hit a 6 iron left of the green and with not much room to play with over a bunker I hit a perfect flop shot that landed just on the green and rolled straight into the middle of the cup for a much needed birdie. I then hit 2 good shots to about 20ft on the par 5 ninth which I two putted for another birdie.

The 10th hole my tee shot came up just short of the green and from here I just failed to get up and down. I made a regulation par down 11. A pulled tee shot down 12 hit a tree hanging over the fairway and I was left with just under 200yds uphill to a blind green, I went with a 5 wood into the wind and hit a lovely shot to 8ft which I hit too hard through the break and I had to settle for par. The next two holes produced regulation pars. I hit a lovely 5 wood and 3 wood onto the edge of the par 5 15th but didn’t make up and down and had to settle for par. On the 16th I had a go for the green and hit my tee shot just off the side of the green no more than 30ft away and hit my chip about 4ft past which I pulled and had to settle for another par. Two good shots into 17 and 18 left me with 8 and 20ft for birdies and both of them slipped by.

I finished the day with a 73 and six behind the leaders and tomorrow I tee off at 1.50 when I will look at trying to move up the leaderboard.

 

 

