Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Yesterday saw me do a Beat the Pro Competition for Gents Invitation Day at De Vere Wychwood Park. The aim of the day was to raise money for the charity SPARKS.  I was on the 11th hole a short par 3 playing at 161yds with a front left pin position only a good shot would get the ball close to the hole. I met and took on each group as they came through, I would wait for each player to hit before I would have a go at beating what was in front of me, throughout the day there was many great shots and one truly great shot as Mike Flitt from Bramhall Park aced the hole after striking a lovely shot that never left the flag, my effort to halve was online but too long.

                                      Mike after picking his ball out of the hole.

After the golf there was the Captain’s Charity Dinner to  raise further money for SPARKS. I was hosting the De Vere table which was a great honour, the dinner brought members together to eat, drink and bid for various auction pieces and also to listen to after dinner speaker Willie Thorne and comedian Aaron James. Willie told stories of his days as a top class snooker player whilst Aaron had the room rolling round in laughter, possibly the funniest comedian I have heard. The whole day was well supported and in total just over £9300 was raised for the SPARKS charity.

 

 

