Tags

, , ,

Today was the second round of the Formby Hall Classic and I started on the 1st at 2.05. Hitting a solid 3 wood followed by a good 8 iron into around 15ft on the 1st the birdie putt barely missed, I then hit a 6 iron 20ft left of the flag on the 2nd and the birdie putt somehow stayed above ground. Two good shots into the third left me with 25ft for eagle which finished inches short of falling in, but a solid birdie. Two more good shots into 4 gave me another good look at birdie, but I read too much break and the ball stayed high.

A good drive down 5 left me with a 5 iron in which I turned over and missed the green left, a good chip followed and a tap in for par. A good two putt on 6 led to another par. I hit a decent drive down 7 and decided to lay up, I then hit a 9 iron for my 3rd which I pulled a fraction then spun onto the fringe and up against the collar of rough only 20ft from the hole. From here I had a number of options and I went with a 56 deg wedge, I hit a good chip that finished bang online and again just a couple of inches short. Another good shot into 8 led to a par after my birdie putt came up just short. A great drive down 9 left me with a pitch in that finished 15ft left of the hole which I rolled in for birdie.

I then hit really good shots into 10 and 11 and also hit good putts but they stayed above ground.  My drive down 12 just caught the right rough and from here I hit a good 4 iron to 20ft, the birdie putt somehow didn’t drop as it finished directly behind the hole with a third of the ball hanging over the edge, I waited hoping it would fall but had to tap in for par. I am pretty sure that was the shortest putt I have ever holed. A good tee shot into 13 went a little long and two putts later I made par. I then made a solid par on 14. I hit a good tee shot down 15 and then blocked my second just a touch only to see it land on the cart path next to the green which shot it forward into the water beyond after taking a penalty drop I hit a good pitch 6ft past and from here my bogey putt slipped by. I would then go on to give myself birdie putts of around 20ft on the last three holes which I two putted each to finish the day with a 72. This meant I finished the tournament on +2 and missed the cut by 3 shots.

For the two rounds I played very well from tee to green, combine this with some improved putting and I look forward to playing over the coming weeks.

 

