Tags

, , ,

Yesterday was the first round of the Formby Hall Classic and I started my day on the 10th tee at 9.05 after hitting two good shots into the 10th I left my birdie putt inches short and an opening par onto 11 a hit another good couple of shots in and my birdie attempt just stayed on the edge of the hole. The 12th hole is a very good hole at just under 470yds a perfect tee shot left me with a 5 iron in it came up just of the green from here my chip burnt the edge of the hole and finished four feet past which I rolled in dead centre. I then pulled my 5 wood into the par 3 12th into the greenside bunker from here I had to play out away from the flag as my ball was up against the back lip, I went onto just miss my par putt from 25ft.

On 14,15 and 16 I had birdie putts of 10, 15 and 8ft that all slipped by but a good drive down 17 followed by an 8 iron to 3ft led to my first birdie of the day, I would then have chances for birdies on 18 and the 1st that didn’t drop before I 3 putted the 2nd for bogey and also 3 putted the 3rd for par. A slightly pulled approach into 4 left me with 25ft for birdie that didn’t have the legs but a tap in par.

On the fifth I didn’t commit to my tee shot and pushed it into the edge of the hazard after hacking at the ball it just popped out and I hit a 5 wood for my third that just rolled off the back  from here I chipped it stone dead and knocked it in for bogey. I would go onto lip out on 6 for birdie from around 25ft.

The 7th saw me hit a good tee shot down the right side of the fairway from here I hit my best shot of the day a 5 wood from 238yds that just caught the back of a bunker on the front of the green which shot the ball over the back of the green and very nearly into the hazard beyond after hitting my lob onto the green the birdie putt slipped by. 8 and 9 produced pars after good shots into each, the birdie putts just didn’t fall.

So the day ended with a 74, I am playing very well at the moment and I know when the putting comes back  the scores will start to tumble. Today is the second round and I am confident today is the day when the putts drop again.

