Tags

, , , ,

Today was the first round of the World Snooker Championships at The Players Club in Bristol with the course measuring 7045yds and par 70 it is one of the longest on the tour’s schedule. My round started at 12.39 on the par three 10th. A good 4 iron at the flag but a touch short would leave me with around 25ft which just slipped by and an opening par, after two good shots into 11 my birdie putt had too much speed on it and even though it caught the right edge it went 5ft past which I missed and so a sloppy bogey. Another good two shots into 12 left me with just under 10ft for eagle which agonisingly just slipped by , a tap in birdie resulted and I was back to level par. Thirteen is a good par 3 over water and a good 6 iron left me 12 ft away, I didn’t give the putt enough break and I had to settle for par. I pulled my tee shot on 14 and after cutting a 6 iron from 190yds round a tree in front me my ball bounced over the back of the green and into thick rough from here I was too aggressive and had to settle for a two putt bogey. Onto 15, three solid shots left me with a good shout at birdie, the putt was over read and I walked off with a par. A good shot into 16 gave me a real look at birdie from 15ft but the putt lacked conviction and missed on the low side. Onto 17 a good drive left me with 100yds which had too much spin on it but I converted the 20 footer for a nice birdie, a very nice feeling to know the putt was in from about 8ft out.
18 would give me a putt of about 15ft for birdie, from above the hole I was too tentative and I tapped it in for par.

Two solid pars came at 1 and 2 before a sloppy 3 wood on 3 led to a lost ball and a double bogey from here to the finish I gave myself great looks at birdies, none would drop but I was more than happy with the way I was hitting the ball. It is only a matter of time before the putts start to drop. So in today’s round I hit 16 greens, I hit one poor shot which led to a double bogey and had 36 putts. The putting felt good though, so I look forward to playing again tomorrow.

