Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday saw me play the second round of the ABC Solutions event at De Vere Wychwood Park. My round started at 1.17 from the 1st tee and after a drive and a 5 wood I was left with 35ft for eagle which I two putted for an opening birdie, I then unfortunately made a bogey at 2,3 and 4 after 3 putting each green. A good couple of shots into 5 gave me a good look at birdie, but I had to settle for par.

A good up and down at 6 meant another par, before slightly pushing my second shot into the par 5 7th into a hazard and after taking a drop I took a further 4 shots for an ugly double bogey. Good shots into 8 and 9 left me with outside chances for birdies which would lead to two pars.

After pushing my tee shot on 10 to the right edge of the fairway I had an overhanging tree in my way I pulled my second a touch trying to keep it low and it put me on the wrong tier which would to lead to a 3 putt, a good shot into 11 gave me another good look at birdie that just stayed on the high side. The rest of the holes would leave me with outside chances at birdies but none dropped. A poor shot into the front bunker at 16 followed by an average bunker shot to about 8ft would lead to a bogey.

So in the end it was a round of 78 and a disappointing missed cut, but this is only one tournament and I will go again next week at the Players Club in Bristol. My game is good and I look forward to competing again.

