Tags

, , , , , ,

Today was the first round of the ABC Solutions sponsored event at De Vere Wychwood Park, I started my round from the 10th at 8.17.

I begun solidly giving myself a look at birdies on the first two that missed, before a good two putt at 12 for par. After a good 5 wood and 5 iron into the 13th another birdie putt slipped by. What I thought was a good drive down 14 went into the hazard and after taking a penalty drop I played a good 3rd to around 15ft which I just missed. The 15th is a tough dogleg left to the right with water all down the right and playing slightly into the wind makes the drive a little tougher, so after a good drive I came up just short of the green but a nice chip and run to a few inches left me with a tap in for par. A couple of good shots into 16 left me with around 18ft which I annoyingly left in the jaws and another par. Into 17 I pushed my tee shot a little, leaving an outside chance for birdie but a solid two putt resulted in another par. Then onto 18 where I hit a 3 wood and a 5 wood that left me with a wedge in, but a poor shot left me with about 35ft which I two putted.

Onto the front nine I gave myself  good chances for birdies on 1,2 and 3 before a poor shot into 4 left me with 30yds to the flag which I didn’t get up and down and a bogey, 5 gave me an outside look at birdie but a good two putt came. The par 3 6th is a good hole at 225yds with water short, I blocked my 4 iron and failed to  get up and down, so I was now plus 3 for the round. I hit a very good drive down 7 followed by a slightly pulled 3 wood into the greenside bunker from there my bunker shot finished 4ft away and my first birdie of the day. A pulled 2nd into 8 left me with a severely breaking putt that somehow did not drop and to finish off I pushed my 6 iron into the 9th into the greenside bunker and from there I hit a great bunker shot that somehow finished directly behind the cup and hanging on the lip, I don’t know how that one didn’t drop either.

Tomorrow my round starts at 1.17 from the 1st and I look forward to putting a good score on the board and moving on from today.

