Tags

, , ,

Thursday saw me play at Manchester GC in a 36 hole event on the 1836 Tour, my first round started at 1042 with a 3 putt for bogey from about 60ft, I would then go onto par the next two holes before failing to get up and down on the par 3 fourth. After this I hit many good shots but not quite hitting it close enough so pars came until I holed a 25ft putt for birdie on 8 and then hit the green in 2 on the par 5 9th and after 2 putts I was back to level par and moving up the board. A chance for birdie would slip by on 10 before I holed from 4ft on 11 for birdie and now under par, I would then have a couple of good chances for birdie that would again slip by. A nice up and down would result in another birdie at 14, I sadly dropped shots at 15,16 and 17 after missing short putts on each and ended the first round with a 73.

As the first round took 5 1/2 hours to play there was no time to stop for lunch and so we walked straight back onto the 1st tee for the afternoon round.  So the afternoon round was going to be a mental and physical test. I would start with 6 pars then after driving through the par 4 7th I got up and down to move 1 under for the afternoon round, pars would then come on 8,9 and 10 before another birdie on 11 and now 2 under then pars on 13 and 14. A very tired swing on the 15th put me in trouble and a bogey was the result followed by a solid par on 16 then a good 8 iron into 5ft at 17 led to a birdie and after a par at the last I was round in 70 and a total of 143 (1 under) to finish in 7th. So after just over 10 hours on the course it was nice to be finished. I now will practice and prepare for the next Europro event at Wychwood Park which starts on Wednesday.

