Tags

, , ,

Today I played in the 20th Edition of  the Andrew Murray Pro-Am at Lymm in Cheshire. It is always a great pleasure to support Andrew’s Pro-Am as he has helped me a lot with my game over the years.

My round got underway on the par 5 18th hole and after a nice drive and 5 wood into the middle of the green I two putted to open with a birdie, I then followed this up with a 12ft putt for birdie at the next and so 2 under through 2. I followed this with good shots into the next two with the putts just shaving the hole for birdies. Onto the short par 4 fourth where I knocked my tee shot onto the green and left the eagle putt in the jaws but another birdie. The par 3 5th gave another good look at birdie but I over read the putt and settled for par before reaching the par 5 next in two that led to birdie and now 4 under through 7 holes. I would give myself a very good chance at the next for birdie from 10ft but didn’t commit to my line and the putt slipped by, I made up for it at the next holing from 20ft to go 5 under through 9 holes.

The back nine things slowed down even though I continued to give myself good looks at birdies, pars were all that came. A 3 putt on my 16th led to a par 5, then after a poor second shot into my 17th I made a great up and down from in the bunker after holing from 5ft for par. My last hole would lead to another par after lipping out for birdie and a round of 66 (5 under).

It was very pleasing to get in, to learn I had won the event by 1. A win is always a nice feeling.

I would like to thank Andrew Murray for inviting me to play and for his continued support with my game, to everyone at Lymm, all the amateurs that played and my playing partners on the day Richard, Peter and Mike.

I look forward now to the next few weeks and I will continue to work hard on the things that I have been doing.